Brushless Outrunner Motor ESC & Battery

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Seano View Drop Down
Platinum  (AU)
USERID: 352428

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Seano Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Brushless Outrunner Motor ESC & Battery
    Posted: 08/Dec/2009 at 7:17pm
Hi Guys I've bought an Extra 330L-EP Extreme 3D RC Acrobatic Plane from Nitro Planes and want to purchase a 50mm Brushless Outrunner Motor 510RPV (Recommended??) ESC & Lippo Battery from Hobby KING. Can anyone recommend what is the correct combination to go with this. I'm new to electrics and haven't got a clue what to choose. Cheers Seano 
SeaComms View Drop Down
Platinum  (AU)
USERID: 97362
HobbyKing aficionado
HobbyKing aficionado

Quote SeaComms Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08/Dec/2009 at 8:13pm
Wow...  nice plane!

Depends a lot on how you want to fly it.  If you are wanting to fly scale type aerobatics, then you wont need as much power as if you wanted to fly full on 3D.

The specs for the plane call for between 750 to 1000 watts, I always seem to overpower my stuff, so I would be looking between SK42-50 650kv and the SK42-60 500kv.

Whilst these are rated at 1150 and 1450 watts respectively, the recommended motors are 650 to 1000 watts. Running the above suggestions in this area will see them last forever.  The 4260 is exactly the same weight as the A4120-7 in the recommendations, so thats not an issue. 

If it were me, I would prob run with the 42-60 500kv on 5 or maybe 6S.  6S would be easier, as two 3S batteries can be used. I would look at 3700ma batts, and a larger lower pitched prop for 3D work, say around 14x4, or for faster aerobatic work, a smaller higher pitch, say 12x7 or 13x6.