HobbyKing Forums
Forum Home Forum Home > Product Specific > Motors > ESCs
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Hobbyking SS Series 25-30A ESC
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Hobbyking SS Series 25-30A ESC

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
vagos2511 View Drop Down
Platinum  (GR)
USERID: 831872
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31/Mar/2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
  Quote vagos2511 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hobbyking SS Series 25-30A ESC
    Posted: 31/Mar/2012 at 2:50am
I have connected two esc like this in parallel in my two AX 2306N 1300kv Brushless Bell Motor. After 30 seconds with half throttle they start to burn. The max current the motors are needed is 15a. Can anyone tell me why this happened? I already cut the red wire from one esc
Thanks

Edited by vagos2511 - 31/Mar/2012 at 5:20am
Back to Top
rcmodelreviews. View Drop Down
Platinum  (NZ)
USERID: 4042
HobbyKing aficionado
HobbyKing aficionado
Avatar

Joined: 06/Mar/2009
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1978
  Quote rcmodelreviews. Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31/Mar/2012 at 3:38am
First of all I'll just make sure I understand how you connected these.

You paralleled the red and black wires to the battery right?

Then you ran the three motor wires from one ESC to one of the motors and the three motor wires from the other ESC to the other motor, right?

What did you do with the servo/throttle leads?

Because both ESCs have BECs in them, you can't just use a Y-lead and plug them into your receiver -- because the BECs (depending on their design) may fight each other and overheat.

You should remove the red wire from the servo-lead of *one* of the ESCs. This will mean that one ESC will have the signal and the negative wire connecting to the receiver and the other will have all three.
RcModelReviews
Back to Top
vagos2511 View Drop Down
Platinum  (GR)
USERID: 831872
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31/Mar/2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
  Quote vagos2511 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31/Mar/2012 at 3:53am
Yes i connected the esc with the battery and the motors as you suscribed,

and i have already removed the red wire of the servo/trottle lead from

one esc.

I also connected only one of two esc with both motors (one at a

time) to make sure the motors are ok but i had the same results, the esc

was geting hot at half throttle after half minute.

Edited by vagos2511 - 01/Apr/2012 at 5:44am
Back to Top
vagos2511 View Drop Down
Platinum  (GR)
USERID: 831872
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31/Mar/2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
  Quote vagos2511 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31/Mar/2012 at 5:14am
Something else it might be important.

I had to use extender wire for the motors lead but i didn't used silicon

wire like one sold at hobbyking.

I used 3mm wire, from a local store.

I am not sure about the specifications, resistant etc, of the wire but i

now it can manage a lot of current.

More than 30 Amp for sure

Edited by vagos2511 - 01/Apr/2012 at 5:45am
Back to Top
airwave View Drop Down
Retail  (US)
USERID: 71296
Hobbyking Addict
Hobbyking Addict


Joined: 27/Aug/2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3270
  Quote airwave Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31/Mar/2012 at 5:57am
was this with the props on??sounds as if it was.you could pull the props and check,if the motor/motors are bad it will heat up with no load/prop.if there is no heat at this time you would have to check the watts used by the motors,just because the motor say max XX amps does not mean thats all it can take.the wrong prop can pull 2X~3x times this and the motor and ESC life will be short.
Back to Top
vagos2511 View Drop Down
Platinum  (GR)
USERID: 831872
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31/Mar/2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
  Quote vagos2511 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01/Apr/2012 at 5:42am
Yes i test them with the props on. I will try without the prop's and i will post the results

Edited by vagos2511 - 01/Apr/2012 at 5:42am
Back to Top
vagos2511 View Drop Down
Platinum  (GR)
USERID: 831872
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31/Mar/2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
  Quote vagos2511 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02/Apr/2012 at 2:54am
I tested motors without props and the esc's didn't get hot.

Then i tried with diferent prop 7/3 and with full throtle for about 40 seconds they got slighty worm.

So the suggested prop's from the manufacturer 8/3.5 maybe was wrong.

Thanks for helping.

Edited by vagos2511 - 02/Apr/2012 at 2:54am
Back to Top
flarssen View Drop Down
Platinum  (NO)
USERID: 3342
Hobbyking Addict
Hobbyking Addict


Joined: 15/May/2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1332
  Quote flarssen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02/Apr/2012 at 5:24am
Originally posted by airwave

you could pull the props and check,if the motor/motors are bad it will heat up with no load/prop.

They will heat up even if they are OK. All motors have losses, and these losses produce heat. Multiply the noload current with voltage, and the wattage you get has to end up as heat, since there is no work done by the spinning shaft. Many motor manufactures warns against running them for more than a few seconds without any load.

Fred
Back to Top
airwave View Drop Down
Retail  (US)
USERID: 71296
Hobbyking Addict
Hobbyking Addict


Joined: 27/Aug/2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3270
  Quote airwave Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02/Apr/2012 at 8:38am
I can only post what has worked for me,I have both in hand and have ran it for longer than 30 min with no load.the statment you made is true,with no cooling and the motor loss it can heat up fast,this is mostly in large motors and ~4/5 AMPS no load.the fist part of HK motors i check is the cheap bearing they come with,not a complant just a fact.i would be suprised to see $5~10 bearings in a $6 motor

Edited by airwave - 02/Apr/2012 at 9:31am
Back to Top
airwave View Drop Down
Retail  (US)
USERID: 71296
Hobbyking Addict
Hobbyking Addict


Joined: 27/Aug/2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3270
  Quote airwave Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02/Apr/2012 at 8:41am
the sugested props can be for 2 cell or 3 cell they can run ~7.4/11.1 volts,the load at 7.4 may take a 8x?? the load at 11.1 will be a smaller prop.you may allso wish to make sure you were shiped the 1300 KV
there is the 2000 KV and would make a big change in prop size.

Edited by airwave - 02/Apr/2012 at 9:28am
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.54
Copyright ©2001-2008 Web Wiz

This page was generated in 0.141 seconds.