HobbyKing Forums
Forum Home Forum Home > Product Specific > Sailplanes > Electric Power
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: DG-1000 Mounting the glider 'The Challenge"
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

DG-1000 Mounting the glider 'The Challenge"

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 234
Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
majestik666 View Drop Down
Platinum  (NZ)
USERID: 1350950
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02/Mar/2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4
  Quote majestik666 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12/Mar/2012 at 1:24pm
has anyone managed to install non-slim
servos in the wings ?
I have some 12g 12mm wide servos but they are slightly
too thick to find in the wing hole.
Back to Top
Varzoni View Drop Down
Platinum  (BR)
USERID: 186298
Bargain Addict!
Bargain Addict!
Avatar

Joined: 25/Feb/2009
Location: Brazil
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 25
  Quote Varzoni Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13/Mar/2012 at 7:49am
Hi Majestik,

I always used slim sersos, so sorry, take a look to this one in the link below.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbycity/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=7026&Product_Name=VG__8.0g_/_1.5kg_/_.14sec_Ultra-Thin_Servo

Good luck.
Back to Top
majestik666 View Drop Down
Platinum  (NZ)
USERID: 1350950
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02/Mar/2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4
  Quote majestik666 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13/Mar/2012 at 7:51am
yes I saw that but after receiving my order :/

I have 12mm thick ones and they don't quite fit
in the wing ... and the slim servos are on backorder now :/
Back to Top
Varzoni View Drop Down
Platinum  (BR)
USERID: 186298
Bargain Addict!
Bargain Addict!
Avatar

Joined: 25/Feb/2009
Location: Brazil
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 25
  Quote Varzoni Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13/Mar/2012 at 8:03am
Yeah Majestik, I guess there is no way, u have to wait the stock normalizes.
Back to Top
majestik666 View Drop Down
Platinum  (NZ)
USERID: 1350950
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02/Mar/2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4
  Quote majestik666 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14/Mar/2012 at 10:01am
just another quick question :)

which rods am I supposed to use to attach the winglets ?
I have 4 alu rods 3x30mm for the wings but no other ...
is it normal ?
Back to Top
Sooty View Drop Down
Platinum  (NZ)
USERID: 173750
Hobbyking Addict
Hobbyking Addict
Avatar

Joined: 10/Mar/2009
Location: Christchurch NZ
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4529
  Quote Sooty Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14/Mar/2012 at 3:43pm
Originally posted by majestik666

has anyone managed to install non-slim
servos in the wings ?
I have some 12g 12mm wide servos but they are slightly
too thick to find in the wing hole.


Does it really matter. I have fitted servos that stick out a mm or two. You can do a reasonable job smoothing the airflow by covering with clear f/glass sticky tape.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes & dreams.
Back to Top
Varzoni View Drop Down
Platinum  (BR)
USERID: 186298
Bargain Addict!
Bargain Addict!
Avatar

Joined: 25/Feb/2009
Location: Brazil
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 25
  Quote Varzoni Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14/Mar/2012 at 6:43pm
Hi Makestik,

I'm not sure but I guess the kit comes with two pieces of rods just to fit to winglets and wings.

Below is the way that Thomanie teached me when I was in doubt in how to mount the winglets too, I think it will help u too much.

"1) The pin fastened in the winglet is supposed to enter a hole in the outer balsa wing tip. The hole is probably covered up by the covering. Find it. Remove as much of the covering as you dare from the outer wingtip rib to expose the wood, while keeping some overhang on the edge.

2) Sand away as much of the gelcoat as you can from the winglet inner rib surface, without sanding into the fibreglass. Coarse sandpaper gives better adhesion. Don't sand off all the gelcoat next to the aileron!

3) Temporarily install the winglet, and find suitable support for the glueing stage. Wing flat on workbench, support the winglet somehow.

4) Micro (epoxy + cotton flock or microballoons) the winglet to the wing. The mix should not be wet and allowed to run, but rather a a drier "paste". Don't glue the aileron ;)

5) Remove excess micro while still not adhered

6) Let dry

7) Tape the joint with suitable white or transparent tape. Use the kind that won't turn yellow and brittle in sunlight..."

Best Regards,
Back to Top
majestik666 View Drop Down
Platinum  (NZ)
USERID: 1350950
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02/Mar/2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4
  Quote majestik666 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15/Mar/2012 at 4:14am
Thank Varzoni,

from the looks of the one page assembly instruction,
they seem to put 2 rods in each wing to assemble against
the fuselage + 1 rod for the winglet, which makes it 6
but only came with 4
is that correct ?
Back to Top
Varzoni View Drop Down
Platinum  (BR)
USERID: 186298
Bargain Addict!
Bargain Addict!
Avatar

Joined: 25/Feb/2009
Location: Brazil
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 25
  Quote Varzoni Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15/Mar/2012 at 5:23am
That is true Majestik, the total of rods must be 6, if your kit came with 4 it is wrong, but it´s not so serious, find a piece of wire in the same gauge.
Good luck.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 234

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.54
Copyright ©2001-2008 Web Wiz

This page was generated in 0.109 seconds.